MINUTES

The regular meeting of the Board of Education, Miller School District #29-4 was held on Monday, November 12, 2018, in the Elementary School Library. The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. by Bryan Breitling, Vice-President of the Board. Other members in attendance were Amy Howard, Jonathan Hurd, Robert Mullaney, Connie Schroeder, and Tara Yost. Absent was Natalie Bertsch. Also in attendance were Dan Trefz, Superintendent, Steve Schumacher, Jr./Sr. High School Principal, Knute Reierson, Elementary Principal and Sara Gates, Business Manager.

Motion by Howard, second by Yost to approve the board agenda. All voting aye.

Motion by Schroeder, second by Hurd to approve Consent Agenda Items.

- 1. Minutes of the October 8th, 2018 board meeting
- 2. Financial Report
- 3. Payment of presented bills

All voting aye.

The Robotics team was recognized.

Knute Reierson, Elementary Principal, reported on enrollment, Reierson Remarks and Red Ribbon Week. The Elementary Student Council is currently busy with various fundraisers and there will be a Rustler Roundup with Laura Stevens presenting on juvenile diabetes.

Steve Schumacher, Jr./Sr. High School Principal, reported on junior high character counts, book study with teachers, and ACT study sessions. He congratulated the volleyball team for their great season and advancing to the state volleyball tournament. He also recognized the robotics team for qualifying for the regional competition in Denver, CO. He also congratulated the state qualifiers for oral interp.

Dan Trefz, Superintendent, reported on board/staff supper and audit finalization. He congratulated the cross country state qualifiers, the football team for their season and recognized the miller band for their achievements.

Motion by Yost, second by Schroeder to approve the request from the Hand County Extension Agency Committee to use the FACS classroom on November 17, 2018 for a 4-H sewing class and to waive the fees for this use. All voting aye.

Request for use fee reduction from Element Athletics.

Motion by Howard, second by Hurd to approve a \$50.00 fee reduction for Element Athletics on December 7, 2018. All voting aye.

Motion by Mullaney, second by Schroeder to approve the request from the Miller Youth Wrestling Program to use the wrestling room for practices and to use the armory gym for the January 6th, 2019 Miller AAU youth wrestling tournament and to waive the fees for this use. All voting aye.

Regular Meeting November 12, 2018 Page 2

Motion by Mullaney, second by Yost to approve out of state travel for Abby Breitling, Kaden Sivertsen, Meghan Poindexter, Luke Naber, Garrett Neyens, Chance Moncur, Kaden Danburg, Elise Propst, Gabi Naber, Alana Howard, Aubrey DeHaai, Aaron Castonguay, Gus Fortune, Tanner Wallman, Emily Poindexter, Carson Miner, and Riley Tebben from December 7th-December 10th, 2018 to attend the Northern Plains Regional BEST competition in Denver, CO. All voting aye.

Motion by Howard, second by Mullaney to approve Tom McGough as volunteer High School Boys Basketball Coach for the 2018-2019 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Yost, second by Hurd to declare the grey 2006 Chevy Uplander as surplus property and to approve using it as a trade in on a used van. All voting aye.

Motion by Schroeder, second by Howard to approve the presented list of computers as surplus property to be disposed of or used as parts. All voting aye.

Motion by Yost, second by Mullaney to enter into Executive Session for the express purpose of personnel issues at 7:06 p.m. SDCL 1-25-2(1). All voting aye.

Vice-President Breitling declared return to regular session at 7:43 p.m.

Minutes recorded by the Superintendent.

Motion by Hurd, second by Yost to approve the work agreement for Nicole Nelson as Head Junior High Boys Basketball Coach in the amount of \$2,636.00 for the 2018-2019 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Howard, second by Schroeder to approve the resignation of Brian McDermott as Junior High Assistant Football Coach effective at the end of the 2018-2019 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Mullaney, second by Howard to approve Ila Norton as an elementary volunteer for the 2018-2019 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Yost, second by Mullaney to approve the administrative bonuses as follows and to be paid in the December 10, 2018 payroll:

Dan Trefz-\$1,400, Sara Gates-\$1,400, Knute Reierson-\$1,200, Steve Schumacher-\$1,200, and Kim Cypher-\$1,200. All voting aye.

The next regular school board meeting is scheduled for Monday, December 17, 2018 at 6:30 p.m. in the elementary school library.

Regular Meeting
November 12, 2018
Page 3

Motion by Schroeder, second by Howard to adjourn at 7:50 p.m. All voting aye.

Bryan Breitling, Vice-President Board of Education

Sara Gates Business Manager